Making Memories

I’m going to go ahead and say everyone needs a camera everywhere they go. A phone camera is okay..but I mean like an Instant camera! They give the photograph a certain feel and look. I don’t have one YET, but I’m really looking into it. I’m deciding between the Polaroid Instant photo printer, or a Polaroid Camera.

I love the idea of being able to just take a shot when a situation arises that you want to be able to remember! Then you have the photo already in your hand, ready to go! You could hang it up or put it away in an album or scrap book. I would totally carry it around with me every day and have a little album with me.

I love my phone, I’m an avid photo capturer, however, I think everyone can agree that a digital copy and a physical copy are so different! It’s like a book compared to an E-book! Books are so much better because you can hold them and have physical pages to turn etc. I don’t know–it’s just universally known, right? Right? 

The only issue with digital photos is that you have to go out and pay to get them developed (unless you got moneys and have a photo printer at home). It’s like 0.05 cents -0.15 cents each. Too much! And I don’t often go out to shops where they print photos. I also don’t drive yet.. so when I do, this issue will probably change. But! I do love the vintage feel of polaroids. The look of them just emits ‘great memories’.

So I’ve been doing research into what I’d like to get. These are the products I’ve been looking at. They are organized in lowest–highest price (how I shop on every site).

Fuji Instax Mini 8 Camera White                                                                                                        $88.00AUD

 As in the name, it’s an instant camera. It features a brightness adjustment dial and a flash. It reminds me a lot of bubbles, and has a cute appearance. It comes in several colours. I’ve seen it’s price range from $79AUD-S110AUD
  • Minimum focusing range of 0.6 m.
  • Print 62 x 46 mm.
  • Shutter speed of 1/60 seconds.
  • Manual switch to control exposure.
  • Built in flash is constantly firing and has an effective range up to 2.7 m.
  • Powered by 2 AA batteries
  •  Lens focal length point Max = 60mm
  • Lens focal length point Min = 0.6mm
  • No optical zoom or digitial zoom
  • No underwater use
  • Batteries are included (2x)-AA
  • Not supported by a memory card
  • It uses Fuji Instax Mini Instant Film
FU84534_fuji_ka_fuji_film_instax_mini_8s_white_white.jpg
Polaroid Snap Instant Digital Camera                                                                                             $184.00AUD

Produces 2 x 3 inch prints in a matter of seconds. It has digital capabilities and allows SD card use for saving photos (bonus)! It’s also, damn beautiful..

  • Produces full colour 2 x 3 inch images or 10 MP digital photos.
  • 6 picture modes (black and white, vintage look sepia etc.).
  • Battery indicator, SD card indicator and no paper indicator
  • Choice of Polaroid border or no border.
  • Turning the camera on and off is via viewfinder—just open or lower.
  • SD card slot supports cards up to 32 GB
  • Self- timer functionality.
  • Built in lithium ion battery.
  • Film replacement BAM349.
  • Includes wrist band, USB cable
  • No optical Zoom, digital zoom or underwater use
  • Uses Polaroid Zink 2 x 3″ Premium Zero Ink Paper

POLSP01WH_polaroid_snap_instant_digital_camera.jpg

Polaroid ZIP mobile Instant Printer                                                                                                 $224.00AUD

It wirelessly connects to your mobile to produce 2 x 3 inch full colour photo prints in a matter of seconds.

  • Connects to iOS or Android devices via Bluetooth or NFC for strong wireless connections.
  • Uses Polaroid ZINK photo paper
  • Zink paper have a self-adhesive backing
  • Each photo prints in under a minute
  • Rechargeable lithium ion battery.
  • Compact design for portability
  • Includes 10 sheets of Zink paper (zero ink paper—it’s all in the paper, not the printer).
  • Direct Thermal printing
  • Includes USB cable

POLMP01BLK_polaroid_zip_mobile_instant_printer.jpg

Polaroid Z2300 Instant Digital Camera                                                                                         $338.00AUD

Allows you to capture and edit great photos, and print them in full colour in under a minute. Has the option to save your photos to an SD card. It features a 10 MP digital camera.

  • This camera features a zoom lens so you can focus in on little details.
  • 3″ LCD screen for viewing the images.
  • Can expand the memory up to 32 GB with an SD card.
  • Rechargeable lithium-ion battery.
  • Inbuilt speaker and microphone.
  • Photos print with ZINK Zero ink.
  • Prints 2 x 3″ sized photos.
  • The photos are smudge proof, water resistant and tear resistant.
  • This pack comes with 10 sheets of Zink photo paper.
  • USB Cable Included
  • Built-in flash
  • Zoom lens
  • No optical zoom
  • 4 digital zoom
  • No underwater use
  • AC adaptor
  • 10mg sensor resolution

Z2300W_polaroid_ky_polaroid_z2300_instant_cam_wh_white.jpg

These cameras and their prices were taken from Officeworks. They have the most reasonable prices for these cameras and printers that I have seen. The only negatives in my opinion are the camera prices (for a student like me) and the prices of the film.

I have been mentally battling printing out photos more regularly against buying an instant camera. I just feel as though, by the time you go to the shop to print it out, you’ve already forgot about the memory and it’s special has faded. When you print it IN that moment, it brings the memory with it. That’s just my opinion.

Thanks for reading this post, I’ll let you know what I decide to do in a future post.

Naomi

 

Leave a Reply

