Depression

The big D word. It’s the word everyone stays away from. It’s the scary word nobody wants to use. It scares people away, pushes people away and can isolate people. Depression sucks. Yep. It does. I’m being 100% honest with you guys. It’s something that you don’t have a choice over. It’s not something that you would ever choose. I have lost friends and boyfriends over this. I have failed classes over this. I have lost significant amounts of weight and put on heaps of weight too. It severely decreases quality of life. I can’t sleep properly. I literally feel like my life is spiraling out of control and I have no grasp over it.I have no motivation for anything. I just want to sit in my bed doing nothing all day and just not care.

It is just the worst. Of course there are ways of relieving it. You can take medications and go to therapy. You can talk to friends and family and lean on them. Basically, anyone who understands you and is willing to support you. I have had people tell me it’s not a real a thing and that it’s silly to let it affect me.

Depression affects how you feel about yourself. It makes life more difficult to manage from day to day. Depression is usually a result of a combination of events and long term personal factors. Continuing difficulties such as unemployment, an abusive/uncaring relationship, isolation/loneliness and prolonged stress all can cause depression.

  • Family history: Can increase the prevalence of Depression.
  • Personality type: Whether you tend to worry a lot, have low self-esteem, are a  perfectionist, sensitive to personal criticism and are self-critical and negative.
  • Serious medical illness: The stress of coping with a serious illness can lead to depressions
  • Drug and alcohol use:  Drug and alcohol use can both lead to and result from depression

Everyone experiences feelings of sadness, disappointment, or ‘the blues’ from time to time. Depression is a range of mood and other symptoms that are more intense, pervasive and long-lasting. They are distressing to the person, and interfere with their day-to-day life and relationships.

 These are signs and symptoms;
  • Feelings of sadness, emptiness or lowered mood
  • Loss of interest in activities that were previously enjoyable
  • Significant changes in appetite and/or weight in the absence of dieting
  • Difficulty sleeping or excessive sleeping
  • Sluggishness
  • Restlessness
  • Fatigue and loss of energy
  • Feelings of worthlessness, helplessness or hopelessness, or excessive guilt
  • Trouble concentrating or making decisions
  • Decreased interest in sex
  • Thoughts of suicide or a feeling that life is not worth living.

These are not things to take lightly. I hope this post has opened up/shed some light upon mental illnesses. Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean it’s not there. Depression doesn’t have to be forever, for some it’s only temporary. I don’t want to continue to live like this. This is not what I want for myself. I think I deserve better–I think all of us with depression do.

I need to start taking my own advice on how to get out of a slump and start to take action again. I want to be in control of my life and everything that goes on in it. I have to make some changes to my life, which I hate doing, but in the end..I think it will be worth it.

Thanks for reading,

Naomi

 

Leave a Reply

