Pick me up books !

A great way of distracting yourself and enjoying some me time is to read a book. I used to read a lot when I was younger. I’d borrow twenty books from the library and have finished 10 by the next day. When middle school came around and we began to be graded on books; my hobby became work and a pain in the butt, and so I stopped reading. I got more into video-gaming and became a bit of a Geek and swapped my Nerd hat in. I continued to buy books because of the love I still have for them, but I felt like I HAD to read them. The feeling of obligation took the excitement away from the books, and my bookshelves continued to fill with more and more books I still haven’t read to this day. The last book I completely finished (besides Nursing textbooks), was The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien. I loved it, as I’m a massive Tolkien fan. Lord of the rings is my life and I wish nothing more than to have been able to join the fellowship and/or also be a burglar (I’d stick out like a sore thumb though, at 5’9″). The hobbits would come up to my knee cap and I would just be awkward, considering my attraction towards Merry, Pip, Kili and Fili. Legolas and his dad are another story though (yum).

ANYWAY. Man, I could talk forever about LOTRs. But. I won’t..

The books I’ve been reading have been celebrity written books. Now before you judge me, they have not been Kardashian books/bio’s (although Khloe’s does look genuinely inspiring), they have been women whom are uplifting to me.

The first book I read was Me Me Me, by Charlotte Crosby from Geordie shore. I wasn’t a big viewer of Geordie shore, I had only seen a couple of episodes here and there. I stumbled across her YouTube channel (literally her name, if you are interested) and I was intrigued by her care free attitude and sense of humor. I feel we could have been great friends, if I were a tad older and you know, not all the way in the middle of nowhere = Australia.

Her book is hilarious and really expresses her personality well (even if a ghost writer helped her). It’s an easy read, and you fly through the 281 pages with a smile on your face. I’d definitely recommend this read. It’s just hilarious.513XQQv3e6L._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_

The second book is by Tanya Burr. I don’t think I need to explain who she is, because basically every person whom watches YouTube knows who she is. She is a vlogger and Beauty Guru on YouTube, and is kind of one of those classic YouTubers. I’m not going to lie, but, just the aesthetic of the book lifted my spirits (I know, don’t judge a book by its cover. BUT WE ALL DO IT ! DON’T PRETEND YOU DON’T !!). It’s a nice leisurely read. It’s not something I’d sit down and finish in one day, but every now and then I pick it up and enjoy it.w24vetce.png

The third book is Is everyone hanging out without me? (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling. Okay, you all know my obsession with Mindy. This book is just great from page one. I was sucked in and read like crazy the moment I bought it. You know how when you go to read a book, you test it by opening to a random page and reading it? Well I had a massive smile on my face and was laughing out loud. She seems like an amazing person and just seems like she could be everyone’s friend. She is super relateable and just down to earth. Be my friend please, Mindy? I’m definitely looking forward to reading her next book. Just waiting for my pay day….books1120chaney

Lastly, Not that kind of girl by Lena Dunham. Her portrayal of Hanna in her TV show Girls got me interested in her sense of writing. When I was younger, I wanted to be a writer. I wanted to write fiction and an opinion piece/essay book. I used to spend all my free time writing teen-fiction on my tiny school laptop till 1am in the night.Yes that was super late for me back then. I went to bed at 5:30am last night. I’m dying. I don’t think that high-school Naomi would approve. I found her writing to be intriguing. It is purely from her perspective, and let us into her personal life in an interesting way, that not many writers would usually do.51wu55a3QDL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Besides these books being beautiful and totally appropriate to showcase on a coffee table, they are great reads. They were less than $25AUD each, which is great because the Australian Dollar is insane. Like INSANE. I’d completely recommend them all! I’m definitely aiming  to buy some of the other books these authors have written. Although these books aren’t the most recent books, I’ve only just stumbled upon them recently and found them a fun, easy read.

I hope that this has been helpful and has opened your eyes up to considering buying celebrity written books. Trust me, I wasn’t into it at first, but you’ve gotta try something at least once! Let me know what books you’ve been reading down in the comments and we can all swap reviews and suggestions !

Thanks for reading!

Naomi x

Leave a Reply

