Make-up review: Australis Products

This past weekend I went a little crazy at Priceline. All Australis products were $10 bucks, instead of their usual price. I haven’t used many Australis products, so I thought I’d try them out, especially since they were on sale!

$ROSXPCE

I have been interested in a good drug store brand of foundation. I’ve been a long time user of Mac Prolongwear. It is my favourite foundation, however, it is pricey and not cruelty free. I really like full coverage, or at least buildable coverage. I bought “Oh 2 Glow Light Diffusing Foundation.”

Z-41306_1

The website says claims that the foundation is flawless and provides great coverage and a natural glow. It has light-diffusing properties. They claim the formula smooths skin, evens complexion and disguises imperfections. Australis claims the illuminating texture is soft on the skin yet delivers great coverage. It contains skin-loving ingredients such as Vitamin A, C and E, and Aloe Vera. They said it blends well into a flawless base and is buildable from sheer to heavy. It is animal cruelty free and vegan !

Today, I tried out this foundation for 10 hours. From 8am-6 pm. The bottle is a lovely, well weighted frosted glass. It has a pump (thank god), and is a great match for my skin tone (Mac NC20-NC25). I am the colour natural beige. I used one layer for my whole face, and another for my problem areas, such as my t-zone and current stress breakout. It was a good coverage, didn’t feel like my skin was weighed down by it. It was a smooth application and had a good yellow undertone. The coverage was great and I did not need to touch up through out those 10 hours. I did set this foundation with another Australis product, which is my holy grail powder. I would wear this foundation again.

So, the powder. “Fresh and Flawless pressed foundation”. 

46010

The website claims, it’s a 2-in-1 foundation and pressed powder compact that provides an instant solution to oily, sensitive or problem-prone skin. It contains Eucalyptus and Clove essential oils (Good for breakouts), Camphor and menthol (antiseptic and cooling botanicals) and provides an airbrushed finish. 

This is my holy grail powder (did not buy this one this weekend). It works well over every foundation without looking caked on. It smooths out the skin and provides an extra bit of coverage that allows me not to need concealer. The compact comes with a sponge and a mirror. Honestly, I’ve tried all sorts, and this is the one that stays on all day and doesn’t budge with a bit of oil (my good ol’ skin).

The next product I bought was the “mineral liquid highlighter” in pearl.

$RUEJPT3

The website describes the product as a Face Illuminator. It contains Vitamin E (moisturizes and is an anti-oxidant) and has 5 botanical extracts : Bilberry, Sugar Cane, Sugar Maple, Orange And Lemon (promote smoother, younger looking skin).

I found it to be quite an interesting product. To be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of it. It’s weird to apply to the skin, and needs a lot of blending. Otherwise, it manages to stay blotchy. I would recommend for cheekbones, but a powder highlight would be better for the bridge of the nose and cupids bow. It would have a stronger lasting power. I will say, this product will last me a life time..

I also bought “4 velour matte lip creams“, in the shades “tok-i-o,” “lun-dun,” “mel-burn” and “doobai.” –all in order below.

The website claims it is highly pigmented, creamy long-wearing which glides on easily. It has a doe foot applicator and a velvety matte finish with intense, full coverage colour payoff. It says that it moves with your lips without flaking.

I found that it is drying after a little while, and would recommend wearing lip balm under it and to bring it with you so that your lips don’t shrivel up and feel tight and restricted. I reapplied once after drinking coffee and once after eating, and it was only for that awkward inner lip line that’s close to the inside of the mouth. It is long-wearing, but however drying. I do love this product however, and so have bought 4 colours. I plan to buy more!

The last two products I’ve owned for a little while, and I am least impressed with these.

AC on tour, powder contouring and highlighting palette” in light and a “Lip pencil.”

The website describes the contour palette as six powders designed to contour and highlight the face that is formulated to provide a natural, healthy glow for any skin tone offering a contouring trio and a highlighting trio.

I found the powder to land very blotchy on the skin. It requires a lot of blending to look natural. The colours need to be mixed to provide a natural look. A little too much of one shade, can leave you with a grey spot on your cheek. I do like the highlighters and lighter shades, as they are easier to use. However, they do not cope well with a tad of oil.

The website describes  the lip pencil as soft, easy gliding, Emollient and vitamin rich that won’t dry lips out. Long-lasting, smudge-free and anti-feathering pencil.
My experience with this product is that it is super drying. The pencil is difficult to drag across your lips, and can clot a bit. I have the shade “miss-behave.” It is a beautiful shade and compliments many lipsticks.
Okay, so this has been my experience with Australis cosmetics. I would recommend these products as all of these are cruelty free and vegan. They are in super markets and drug stores and very affordable. I do quite love this brand.
I hope you enjoyed this post! Thanks for reading,
Naomi xx
Leave a Reply

